Tags

, , , ,

This is not me, this straight-to-blog business. No, I’m a pen-and-paper-first kinda gal. I like to brain dump all over blank sheets of paper until the knots in my mind are undone in some semblance of sense outside of my own brain. Well, you know where that’s gotten me lately? Nowhere.

As desire for cultivating my creative passions outside of work swirl with comparisons of people whose creative passions ARE their work, I have moved further and further away from achieving any sort of peace in this matter. After several renewed intentions over the course of more time than I care to admit, I have to face it. I’m stuck. And it’s all my own doing.

I’ve been funneling so much energy and worry into being perfect right out of the box that I may as well wither away inside of it. So, this is what I get. If straight-to-blog is what it takes for me to quite making excuses and to overcome my fear of imperfection, so be it.

In fact, this exercise has also helped me realize exactly why seeking perfection can be so detrimental (thereby leading me to a content topic so clearly this was the right move on multiple levels).

myquotesclub-balancing act-perfection

  1. Perfection fuels the comparison fire
    You want to be a big-time blogger? Photographer? Insta-famous? As you search the inter-webs for inspiration to help you live your passion, you realize just how many people are out there living your dream in a kick-ass way. It becomes easy to look at renowned bloggers or photographers, and young people with ridiculous amounts of followers on social media, and forget the process they must have endured.
  2. Perfection enables fear
    It’s easy to become paralyzed as you compare yourself with “the competition,” and necessary to regain perspective. That great blog maybe wasn’t born great. That incredible photo likely wasn’t close to the first one shot. It can be too overwhelming to pursue your passion once you convince yourself you’ll never be as good as those who are already doing it. Seeking out sources of inspiration is fine, just beware falling into the trap of wanting to be just as seemingly perfect right off the bat. Respect the process.
  3. Stunts progress
    It’s tough to improve when you haven’t even started, and this is precisely where I’ve been living for too long now. There may be a constant stream of inspiration as you brush up on tips and tricks and admire the work of those who’ve come before you, and if you wait too long to take action the inspiration goes sour. It goes from being the push you need to the pressure keeping you down as you avoid the negative feelings associated with your own imperfections – but you haven’t even started yet!

Here’s what it comes down to: we’ve all got to start somewhere. We won’t be perfect right away, or maybe ever, but at least we’ll be able to face ourselves and say we tried.

Cheers,
Nausheen

 

