Tags

, , , , , , ,

Seriously, WHERE does time go?! I know I’m a broken record, but it’s a bit terrifying. Each chapter in my life feels so removed from the previous ones, that I can easily imagine a much older version of myself flipping through the pages some day too soon. Does this even make sense to you? It is my reality, but anyway, I digress.

Last week was our Fulbright Mid-Year Conference. MID-YEAR. Meaning our time here in Spain, as Fulbrighters, is halfway through. Which is kind of a shame because it’s taken me this long just to feel fully adjusted! But is also kind of awesome because there is a big part of me that can’t wait to be reunited with friends, family and familiarity.

The Conference itself was…invigorating! I think my most used phrase quickly became, “I am so impressed by everyone here.” That is my main take away. Fulbrighters are basically awesome. It was great seeing the grantees from other areas of Spain all together again. I loved catching up with people I hadn’t seen in months, and also still meeting some great new people.

By far, my favorite thing about the Conference (aside from the gorgeous location) was how much of it was peer-centered. Fellow grantees participated in a talent show, and several presented their research or side projects. It was incredibly interesting to see and hear them flaunt their stuff! I literally had a ‘moment’ during that talent show. An ‘I-am-sitting-in-a-beautiful-room-in-Spain-watching-a-Fulbright-talent-show-this-will-never-happen-again’ moment. I am grateful and humbled to be a part of this amazing group. My only complaint — no end of year conference.

After the Conference, many of us decided to make the most of our weekend by sticking around to explore Valencia. We explored the Central Market and Arts & Sciences area, chilled at the beach, caught some of the Olympics at various bars, stuffed ourselves with Paella, danced our nights away and rode bikes through a beautiful park! As told in pics:

Arts & Sciences

Arts & Sciences

Arts&Sciences

Arts&Sciences

Palm Trees!! Arts&Sciences

Palm Trees!! Arts&Sciences

Historic City Center

Historic City Center

Central Market

Central Market

Major highlight!

Major highlight!

Overall, I am happy our Conference was in Valencia because I may not have made it over there otherwise. Valencia turned out to be absolutely beautiful, and I had a great time. Here’s to the next few months of Fulbrighting!

