Tags

, , , , ,

After my most recent trip, I have to agree with Ms. Hepburn. After years of being thwarted, I finally made it to Paris and the trip was indeed a great idea. I first planned a trip to Paris back in 2010. My friend and I were doing a short study abroad stint in London through school, and had already bought train tickets to hit up Paris one weekend. Of course, the winter that we were there turned out to be one of the worst in over 25 years. Paris was cancelled.

After that, I returned to Europe two more times (once to France!) and still didn’t make it over to the city of lights and love and general glam. Which is why, of all the trips I’d planned so far this year I was most looking forward to Paris.

I have long been easily entertained, except when high expectations are involved. With an imagination like mine, it’s easy to get swept away on the whims of high expectations. I had such expectations for Paris. I had heard wonderful things. Paris is beautiful and fun. I wanted to be impressed by the Eiffel Tower and in love with the lights and the streets. A tall order, so naturally I was afraid of Paris falling short.

It didn’t. Paris was beautiful. The Eiffel Tower was magnificent in person. The views from the Arc de Triomphe took my breath away. The language was music to my ears. Without further ado, the visuals:

Our first taste of macaroons!

Our first taste of macaroons!

At the Louvre. I couldn't resist they typical tourist picture.

At the Louvre. I couldn’t resist they typical tourist picture.

Love Lock bridge - tons of neat locks on here!

Love Lock bridge – tons of neat locks on here!

Magical, amiright?

Magical, amiright?

Notre Dame

Notre Dame

We visited the Louvre at night - free for youth then and absolutely beautiful!

We visited the Louvre at night – free for youth then and absolutely beautiful!

First glimpses

First glimpses

Catacombs - unlike any other I've heard of. 6 million skeletons in there!

Catacombs – unlike any other I’ve heard of. 6 million skeletons in there!

Moulin Rouge! Strolling through Montmartre

Moulin Rouge! Strolling through Montmartre

View from Arc de Triomphe

View from Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

DSC01348

Morning fog

Morning fog

Last meal!

Last meal!

Overall, Paris was incredible even though the weather wasn’t always on our side. Are you heading to Paris? Need any tips? Better yet – have you been? Have any suggestions? I’m most likely returning to Paris with my family in kinder weather (June), and hope to have a nice itinerary set. Tips welcome 🙂

