Tags

, , , , ,

While I am living in Madrid, twice a week I will be making the trek to Segovia to work with the IE University’s main campus. Last week, a few of us hopped on La Sepulveda and took off on a day trip to Segovia. An UNESCO World Heritage site since 1985, Segovia was filled with vibrant charm and spectacular architecture.

First, we marveled at the aqueduct. Built in 1st century AD without the use of any mortar, the aqueduct is an impressive attraction.

With my sister in front of the aqueduct

With my sister in front of the aqueduct

We also got to check out Alcazar – a medieval fort that is said to have inspired Disney’s fairytale castle! While we did get to explore the inside of the castle, we did not make it up to the tower as a storm was brewing!

Out of all the sites we saw, my favorite was the cathedral. It was the last Gothic cathedral to be built in Spain. Both the cathedral and the plaza near it were picture perfect.

DSC00063

As if that weren’t enough, we also glimpsed a couple other gems:

A wedding in the plaza near the cathedral! Lots of fancy dresses and rice

A wedding in the plaza near the cathedral! Lots of fancy dresses and rice

Cute older couple dancing to street music.

Cute older couple dancing to street music.

Our little day trip to Segovia has certainly left me excited about heading back there soon (though I won’t say I’m the biggest fan of the 2 hour commute).

 

