Tags

, , ,

One week from today I will be on a plane off to Madrid for 10 months. I’m sorry to say that at this moment I feel less excited, and more sad and scared. I think I’ve been home for just a little too long. The whole experience is starting to seem both less and more real at the same time, if any of you can make any sense of that at all.

I suppose it’s finally starting to sink in that I will actually be out of the states and away from my family for nearly a year straight. As I spend these final days with family and friends before my trip, every moment is increasingly precious. I know I am embarking on a great adventure, something I could only have dreamed of even just several months ago. But at this very moment, I am very aware of the fact that I will be in unfamiliar territory without easy access to my loved ones.

Fortunately, I have Skype and a phone and internet. Thank God for connectivity. Still, I can’t help but feel a little lonely and nostalgic already.

As I gear up for this year abroad, I will continue to draw on the support of my amazing family and friends. Here’s hoping for a great last week in the States before the adventure of a lifetime.

