Tags

, , , , , , ,

Frederick Douglas said, “Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.”

I know what you’re thinking. This girl hasn’t said a word since 2013 began, and now she’s throwing out quotes? Cliche!

I know. In my defense, my life has gotten slightly more…interesting? You want updates, and I will get them to you soon but right now I’ve got a bit of an agenda, if you will. 

As you may know, from my excessive posts about it, I am an educator. I teach 6th grade English in a low-income neighborhood. And, I need your help (no, not because I’m an English teacher starting sentences with ‘and’). 

You see, I have this class library. Only it’s filled with tattered and out-dated books. Fortunately, some of my sweet kids have taken it upon themselves to contribute to our library. Unfortunately, those who are donating rarely have more than 1 book to bring in. Sweet, sweet children. 

They deserve books. They want to read. And while I wish I could buy them the entire YA section of Barnes&Noble, I can afford no such thing. So I’m turning to all of you. 

Ever heard of Donor’s Choose? Maybe it’s a teacher thing. Anyway, I’m on it. I spent days finding all the hip YA books I could. I’ve found a variety – books for low readers, high readers, girl readers, boy readers. There’s a book out there for everyone and I want to help my kids realize that reading doesn’t always have to be a chore. 

The best part? YOU can help. All you’ve got to do is mosey on over to: http://www.donorschoose.org/ms.farishta and donate. ANY amount helps. Plus, until 2/18 (limited time!) you can double your donation by using the match code HEART. 

I want my kids to be free. Free from illiteracy, free from poverty, free from limitations. 

Thank you in advance for your generosity, and for your time. 

