Tags

, , , ,

There’s nothing like the entire earth beginning its journey around the sun anew to inspire everyone else to start fresh as well. I get that, boiled down, it’s just another day. But I can’t help but feel like it’s so much more, and it seems I’m not alone.

I love all the tweets and Facebook posts I see of people reflecting on this past year, and radiating hope for the new one. With all the craziness of our day-to-day lives, sometimes we just need a built-in clean slate.

As I reflect on my own year, I’m impressed by how well it went and how much I managed to cram into it. Here’s a quick recap:

January – Trip to New Orleans

March – Spring break in Marseilles, France

May  – Skydiving

June – In a wedding for the first time

June/July – Trip to Italy (Rome, Naples, Amalfi Coast)

September – Train concert

November – Trip to San Antonio

These are just some of the highlights of my year. It’s been a year filled with great friends, loving family and unimagined adventure. Of course, not everything was peachy. There were some losses, some helpless moments and some pain. Still, in the grand scheme of things 2012 has been one of my best years yet.

Which is great and all, but it is making the transition into 2013 a bit more frightening than I’m used to. I am entering 2013 with some very big unknowns on my shoulders. I’ve started a new job hunt and have no idea what will come of it. Will I land my dream opportunity? This will also determine where I’m living 6 months from now. Will I stay in Texas, or finally be able to rejoin my family and friends in Chicago?

Entering 2012 I had an outline of my life laid out for me, as I have for much of my life. Last NYE I was more focused on mindset than anything else.

2013 is a different kind of beast. I have no clue what to expect from this year. Of course, I realize a large part of it is still in my hands and still about mindset. Yet there are some key factors which remain obscure at the moment. I suppose after having so much of my life mapped out to some extent for so long, this year should stand out as a unique adventure.

All I can do is take the leap, and hope the wind will be in my favor.

