Tags

, , , ,

I. LOVE. Words.

I do. I’m sort of obsessed. There is so much you can do with them:

Write (songs, scripts, Harry Potter, books, encyclopedias, dictionaries [duh], texts, tweets, love letters, blog posts, speeches, poetry, recipes – you get it, write?).

And, without a doubt, I love to speak.

I love how there are so many different words to say essentially the same thing. I love the precision offered me  by the varying range of different words with the same basic meaning.

As a child, I loved using “big” words to throw people off (even thought it earned me some strange looks and major nerd points).

I believe in the immense power of words to illicit the most powerful of human emotions, intense followings and extreme offense. Honestly I could go on and on.

But today’s post focuses more on how the candle I hold for words came to be lit again. This morning I attended day 2 of a PD on Metacognitive Strategies. I sat there with my coffee, still waking myself up and preparing to take notes. Then, in came the presenter and announced that we’d be starting off the morning with….A HISTORY OF WORDS!

My back straightened, ears perked up, the corners of my mouth began to turn up shamelessly as I rocked back and forth and [almost] clapped my hands in joy – I was giddy! I participated enthusiastically in the little pop quizzes after each topic covered, and had to hold myself back from tweeting [the people have a right to know everything that has an effect on me in 140 words or less, dontcha know] my excitement right then and there!

Here are my two MAIN takeaways:

1. The Germans used to pronounce every letter. For instance, enough would be pronounced “enougohay.” Over time, the spelling didn’t change but the pronunciation changed. This explains so much, don’t you agree?

2. The ‘wh’ sound is really pronounced ‘hw.’ This is something we apparently should know, so maybe you already do because you’re a genius and smarter than me. Thanks for rubbing it in!

In case you didn’t know, we are all just too lazy to add that extra breath in front of the ‘w’ in words like ‘why.’ This reminds me of my 9th grade English teacher, hwho was never too lazy to take this step. I didn’t realize this back then. Back then I attributed his breathy ‘wh’ words to his age and body composition. Oh how I take back such thoughts, oh wise one.

To conclude, I leave you with the wisest of them all:

Know any fun facts about words? Have an all-time favorite word? I’d love to hear from you!

