Tags

, , , ,

Just kidding it’s only me.

Where do I start?? It’s been almost exactly four months since my last entry. I swore I wouldn’t let that happen, but I now know that was a naive promise to make.

Have you ever taught? Are you a teacher? Do you know a teacher? If so, I urge you to go take them a giant cup of coffee and lots of hugs right now!! Oh, and bring a pen to help them grade!! And plan!!

In other words – teaching. Is. Hard. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life. There is an endless amount of planning, some grading, tears of inadequacy. I wake up at 5am every morning (unless I keep hitting snooze =/) to be at school around 6:30. I teach four back to back classes in the morning, and then some extra enrichment classes after lunch a few times a week. I am lucky if I am ever off campus right when school ends at 4:35. Then it’s home for more planning/grading/possibly eating and SLEEP until the next day begins again.

Like I said, I’ve never worked so hard in my life. BUT, such hard work has also never before been SO worth it. I love my students and I love the opportunity I have to be a positive presence in their lives every single day. I love the school I’ve been placed at and everything it stands for. I love my staff. I should probably be 100% content, and honestly if I could focus my mind on just the present I’d probably be a lot closer to that feeling.

But of course, I am constantly thinking about what happens next. Where is my life headed? As far as career goes – I love what I am doing and I am passionate about becoming a better teacher by the hour. Teaching may very well end up being my lifelong career; but I am not comfortable with this happening until I’ve had a chance to get out there and explore some other options. I know I want to go to grad school once my two year commitment with TFA is over but, for the life of me, I cannot figure out what for.

As for my personal life – I am fresh out of a five year relationship and it’s glaringly obvious to me that I am 23 and will spend the next couple of years just putting it all behind me. But I suppose I’ve done the only thing I really can regarding this situation – gotten a lovable puppy to occupy my mind and surrounded myself with as many positive influences as possible :).

I am constantly hearing people’s stories about the period of time when their lives felt…scattered and uncertain; and how in the end, everything comes together wonderfully. I am hopeful this sort of luck will come my way too.

For now, I just want to continue to improve as a teacher, figure out what lies ahead career-wise (help), and TRAVEL. God, I want to travel so badly. I just want to live my life, start crossing stuff off my bucket list, and spend a lot of time strengthening and keeping up with all of the wonderful friendships I’ve been blessed with.

Here’s hoping for more frequent updates to this blog now that I’ve got several months of teaching under my belt. Let’s keep in mind more frequent means more than once every four months :p

