Well here it is.

I’ve toyed with the idea of creating a blog for some time now. I love reading people’s blogs, and there may be enough going on in my own life for people to be interested in…MAYbe. Here it is regardless, a chronicle for me if nothing else.

Those who know me, know how decisions can be next to impossible for me. I won’t make you guess how long it took me to decide on a suitable title and tagline for this blog. Balancing Act. Because although I am embarking on a journey with Teach For America, I hope there will always still be much more to my life than any one thing. Because I want to have a constant reminder for myself to balance work with life, secular with religion, and tears with lots and lots of laughter. Because I am a Libra (screw you new astrological mumbo jumbo, Libra through and through!).

My tagline is this: For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. What? Again, those who know me know I can’t possibly mean anything scientific by this. I feel it ties in very well with the idea of Balance, don’t you? This will serve as a reminder to me (and anyone who sees it hopefully) that all of our actions – be they big or small, have a valid impact – whether immediately visible to us or not.

It is my passion to give back to the people in the communities, in the world around me. If this is too cliché for you I really don’t know what to tell you because it is truly how I feel. There are some incredibly humongous obstacles facing the majority of mankind, and the obstacles to alleviating it all often seem incredibly impossible to surpass. But this does not mean that we should not try our absolute best to reach out and positively impact anyone around us who we can. Because although smiling at a passerby or complimenting a friend may seem trivial, I’m sure we all know the power of a good mood. And I believe these good actions have domino effects resulting in equal if not greater actions down the line.

But that’s just me.

Now that I’ve rambled on about my rationale I find I have successfully used up a little more time than I had. My intention was to begin finally to address my current thoughts and feelings about the Teach For America experience I am on the verge of, but that one will have to wait.

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

